Horse Races And Tracks

Famous Racetracks with Famous Horseraces

Steven Mars's image for:
"Famous Racetracks with Famous Horseraces"
Image by: 

There are many famous race courses around the world. In the United States, the race courses that hold the three Triple Crown races and  Breeder’s Cup are most famous. The Triple Crown starts with the Kentucky Derby held in Churchill Downs race track the first Saturday in May. It is located in Louisville, Kentucky. Then, two weeks later, the Preakness Stakes is held at Pimlico race track on Saturday in Baltimore, Maryland. Three weeks after that, the Belmont Stakes is held at Belmont Park race track on Saturday in Elmont, New York. Only thirteen horses have won the Triple Crown since 1919.

The Breeder’s Cup was seven races with at least one million dollar purses from 1984 until 1999 when the Filly And Mare Turf was introduced as an additional race at Gulfstream Park. In 2007 at Monmouth Park in New Jersey three more new races were added and a two day race card introduced. Friday’s new races were the Juvenile Turf, Dirt Mile, and Filly And Mare Sprint. At Santa Anita in 2008, three more races were added:  Turf Sprint, Juvenile Fillies Turf, and Marathon.   

The Breeder’s Cup has been hosted by several famous race courses including Santa Anita race track, Hollywood Park, Belmont Park, Churchill Downs, and Gulfstream Park. Santa Anita hosted the Breeder’s Cup in 1986, 1993, 2003, 2008, 2009, 2012, and is scheduled to host the Breeder’s Cup in 2013. Santa Anita is located in Arcadia, California.

Hollywood Park is located in Los Angeles, California. The first Breeder’s Cup was at Hollywood Park. It hosted the Breeder’s Cup in 1984, 1987, and 1997. Churchill Downs held the races in 1988, 1991, 1994, 1998, 2000, 2006, 2010, and 2011. Belmont Park hosted the Breeder’s Cup in 1990, 1995, 2001, and 2005. Gulfstream Park is located in Hallandale Beach, Florida. Gulfstream Park held the Breeder’s Cup in 1989, 1992, and 1999.

The Melbourne Cup is held at Flemington Racetrack in Melbourne, Victoria, Australia on the first Tuesday in November. It was first run in 1861 and has a purse of about $6,175,000. Three year olds and up qualify for the Melbourne Cup. The Royal Ascot takes place at Ascot Racecourse in London, England. It is a week of racing that includes the Golden Jubilee Stakes and the Gold Cup. The Grand National is held in Aintree, England. The horserace includes thirty fences that have to be jumped and a two mile run. Professional and amateur trainers and jockeys are encouraged to participate.

The Prix de l’Arc de Triomphe is held each year the first Sunday in October at Longchamp racecourse in Paris, France. It is open to three years old and older horses. It has been running since 1920. The purse was about four million Euros in 2012.

The Gran Primio Lotteria is held at Agnano racetrack in Naples, Italy. It is a harness race for four year olds and up. The distance is nearly one mile and the purse is $795,000. It was inaugurated in 1951.  

More about this author: Steven Mars

From Around the Web