Basketball Players

Philadelphia 76ers all Time Leading Scorers

William Menna's image for:
"Philadelphia 76ers all Time Leading Scorers"
Image by: 

One of the oldest members of the NBA, the Philadelphia 76ers franchise started out as the Syracuse Nationals in 1949. Now 61 seasons into their existence, the Sixers have won three championship, reached 45 playoffs, and sent 12 players to the Basketball Hall of Fame. The Philadelphia 76ers' all-time leading scorers include Hall of Famers Charles Barkley, Julius Erving, Hal Greer, and Dolph Schayes

Hal Greer: 21,586 points

The Philadelphia 76ers' all-time leading scorer is great shooting guard Hal Greer. Beginning his career in 1958 with the then Syracuse Nationals, he remained with the Sixers franchise for his entire career through 1973. A ten-time All-Star, Greer averaged more than 20 points per game eight times and finished in the top ten in points per game eight times. Along with NBA legend Wilt Chamberlain, Greer was a leader on the Sixers' 1967 championship team with an average of 27.7 points in 15 playoff games.

Allen Iverson: 19,931 points

The latest superstar to don a Sixers' jersey, recently retired guard Allen Iverson ranks second among the Philadelphia 76ers' all-time leading scorers. Iverson was a pure volume scorer, scoring 27.6 points per game on a low .421 field goal percentage as a Sixer. Iverson was a four-time scoring champion, leading the NBA in 1999, 2001, 2002, and 2005. Surprisingly, his career-high of 33.0 points per contest wasn't enough to lead the league as it happened in Kobe Bryant's career year of 35.4 points in 2006.

Dolph Schayes: 18,438 points

Dolph Schayes was one of the greatest players of the early NBA and one of the Sixers' all-time leading scorers. Schayes joined the NBA in 1949 when the Sixers were playing as the Syracuse Nationals. With the 76ers franchise for every season of his 15-year career, Schayes put together career averages of 18.5 points and 12.1 rebounds per game and led the team to 15 playoffs, three NBA Finals, and their first ever championship in 1955. He finished in the NBA's top seven in points 11 times in his career while averaging 20-plus per game six times.

Julius Erving: 18,364 points

The only player to win NBA and ABA MVP Awards, Julius Erving ranks fourth among the Philadelphia 76ers all-time leading scorers. Erving was named an All-Star in each of his 16 professional seasons as one of the greatest wing players in basketball history. Dr. J spent five seasons in the ABA and won three MVPs, three scoring titles, and two championships in that time. In 1976, he joined the Sixers and scored 20-plus points per game in each of his first nine NBA seasons. He won his NBA MVP Award in 1981, averaging 24.6 points, 8.0 rebounds, 4.4 assists, and 2.1 steals per game. Erving then led the Sixers to their most recent NBA Championship in 1983. He scored a combined 30,026 points, the fifth highest total in NBA/ABA history.

Charles Barkley: 14,184 points

Sir Charles Barkley spent the first half of his career in Philadelphia and became one of the 76ers' all-time leading scorers. An 11-time All-Star, Barkley spent eight seasons in Philadelphia with averages of 23.3 points and 11.6 rebounds per game during his time there. He was an undersized power forward, but he was one of the best in basketball, totaling 23,757 points and 8,286 rebounds with a .540 field goal percentage to rank in the NBA's all-time top 20 in all three categories. In his first year after leaving the Sixers, Barkley won an MVP Award with the Suns.

More about this author: William Menna

From Around the Web